Readings/ Schedule

Unit 1: What Is Theory?

Mon., February 1: What is theory? Course introduction and overview. Please email me your Twitter handle before next week’s class and start following my Twitter Feed @ProfWeingarten.

Wed., Feb. 3: Preface and Chapters 1 through 3 in Literary Theory: A Very Short Introduction
      The Extra Hour: Troubleshooting Twitter, Theory, Key Words, the Annotation Assignment and other Issues

Mon., Feb. 8: Chapters 7 and 8 and Appendix in Literary Theory: A Very Short Introduction
       The Extra Hour: Key Theoretical Words

Wed., Feb. 10: Annotation #1 due

Mon., Feb. 15: Campus is closed for Lincoln’s Birthday

 Unit 1: Biopolitics

Wed., Feb. 17: Watch Children of Men

 Mon., Feb. 22: Discuss Children of Men and Part 5: “Right of Death and Power over Life” from Michel Foucault’s The History of Sexuality, Volume I
     The Extra Hour: Key Words

 Wed., Feb. 24: Part 5: “Right of Death and Power over Life” from Michel Foucault’s The History of Sexuality, Volume I
     The Extra Hour: Key Words

Mon., Feb. 29: Sections 1- 4 of Part 3: “Introduction” from Giorgio Agamben’s Homo Sacer: Sovereign Power and Bare Life
      The Extra Hour: Key Words

Wed., Mar. 2: Sections 1- 4 of Part 3: “Introduction” from Giorgio Agamben’s Homo Sacer: Sovereign Power and Bare Life and Sections 1- 4 of Part 3: “Biopolitics and the Rights of Man” from Giorgio Agamben’s Homo Sacer: Sovereign Power and Bare Life
      The Extra Hour: Key Words

Mon., Mar. 7: Heather Latimer, “Bio-Reproductive Futurism: Bare Life and the Pregnant Refugee in Alfonso Cuarón’s Children of Men.”
      The Extra Hour: Key Words

Wed., Mar. 9: Heather Latimer, “Bio-Reproductive Futurism: Bare Life and the Pregnant Refugee in Alfonso Cuarón’s Children of Men.”
      The Extra Hour: Key Words

Mon., Mar. 14: Children of Men by P.D. James (first half)
The Extra Hour: Thesis Statements

Wed., Mar. 16: Children of Men (second half)
The Extra Hour: Preparing for your paper

Mon., Mar. 21: Catch up/ workshop/ individual meeting day

Wed., Mar. 23: Classes follow a Friday schedule

Mon., Mar. 28: Paper #2 due

Unit 3: Marxism

Wed., Mar. 30: Selection The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx
      The Extra HourLine editing assignment

Mon., Apr. 4: The Communist Manifesto and 50 pages from A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court

Wed., Apr. 6: A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain (finish first half)

Mon., Apr. 11: A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court (finish novel) and the 18th Brumaire

Wed., Apr. 13: “Connecticut Yankings: Mark Twain and the Masturbating Dude” by Elizabeth Freeman

Mon., Apr. 18: “Connecticut Yankings: Mark Twain and the Masturbating Dude”

Wed., Apr. 20: Annotation Assignment #2/ Preparation for Research Paper

April 22- 30: Spring Break!

Unit 3: Psychoanalysis

 Mon., May 2: Antigone by Sophocles

Wed., May 4: Chapter One of Judith Butler’s Antigone’s Claim

Mon., May 9: Oedipus Rex by Sophocles

Wed., May 11: “The Development of the Libido and the Sexual Organizations” from Sigmund Freud’s Introductory Lectures on Psycho-Analysis

Mon., May 16: More on Freud; Last Day of Classes! / Research Paper Due

Print Friendly

One Response to Readings/ Schedule

  1. Pingback: FAQs for English 244 | English 240-sequence resources

Comments are closed.